My Digital Life

When I was in grade school, I constantly begged my mother to let me get Facebook.  All the cools kids have it, I would tell her.  Even the not cool kids have it, I would tell her.  Do you really want me to be the sole child in my grade who does not have Facebook, I would ask her.

Though she ignored my melodramatics for quite a long time, she finally caved when I was 13 and about to begin eighth grade.

Unsurprisingly, my Facebook experiences as a young teenager were uneventful– probably because my mother kept track of everything I posted, everyone I friended, and everyone who friended me.  I actually remember that she freaked out because something I shared said something about being emo; that was (and probably still is) the craziest thing that happened to me on social media.

Anyway, I know a lot of people say Facebook isn’t cool or fun or whatever anymore, especially for someone my age, but I still like it.  In fact, it’s the social media site I use the most, though I’m also on Instagram, Pinterest, and Tumblr a lot, too.

While I spend a lot of time on these sites or apps (whatever you want to call them), I don’t post a lot.  If I do post something, it’s usually about a concert I saw, an article I’ve written, or something of that sort.  I would say I’m a fairly private and closed-off person in general, so I just don’t like posting much on social media, especially about what I had for breakfast or something like that.  If I’m going to say something, I want it to be about something that really matters to me or something I think we should all really be talking about.  (Yes, I do still share silly pictures and videos of dogs and whatnot sometimes. Sharing those things is a way for me to connect with my mom and close friends, so it’s not a big deal to me.)

I realize that what I just said is kind of ironic since I want to be able to write for the rest of my life in some capacity.  Obviously, creative writing it hugely personal.  I mean, everything you write comes from inside your mind and your soul.  (Don’t get me wrong; I think journalism can be just as personal, but unless you’re writing an opinion piece of some kind, your feelings should generally be kept out of it.) Blogging, too, can be pretty personal, but that doesn’t bother me either– perhaps because,again, I can choose to write about something that I really care about. (However, it’s been quite a while since I’ve written anything on my separate music blog.  Every time I look at it, I feel a little sick to stomach because I think my writing in every single post is terrible.)

Getting back on track here, I don’t understand Twitter or Snapchat at all.  In fact, the only reason I got Twitter was to follow bands and writers I like.  I don’t even know where to start with Snapchat.  It just seems absolutely pointless.

Here’s to hoping that I can come to better understand the two this semester, even though I still don’t think I’ll ever get excited about Snapchat.

Image Credit: http://uproarpr.com/reaching-millennials-through-social-media/

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

